The winners of the 2020 National Sustainable Travel Awards were announced at the Modeshift National Sustainable Travel Awards, which for the first time, took place online on Thursday 5th November. To watch the awards visit

The annual awards are designed to recognise and reward Modeshift Members for projects, events or activities that support and encourage sustainable travel, by highlighting best practice, showing innovation and being inspirational.

Members are invited to nominate initiatives they have been involved with, or those that have been undertaken in their area, that demonstrate the sustainable travel work of education providers (schools, colleges, universities), workplaces and community groups. The finalists are chosen by all members with the winners chosen by Modeshift’s voluntary Board.

This year there were 9 categories including, best partnership, best sustainable travel initiative community, best sustainable travel initiative education, contribution to sustainable travel individual, contribution to sustainable travel organisation, contribution to sustainable travel team, excellence in cycling, excellence in walking and best project under £1,000.

Modeshift Chair Ross Butcher said: “Congratulations to the winners and runner ups of Modeshift’s National Sustainable Travel Awards 2020. The caliber of the nominations show that our members are continuing to work hard, though the pandemic to run a range of innovate projects, events and activities to support active, safe and responsible travel. Helping people to actively travel safely is a priority at this time and we will continue to provide the support our members need so that they can continue to provide these much needed projects, events and activities.”

The list of winners and highly commended can be found at

Log in with your credentials


Forgot your details?

Create Account